Transformation Tuesday: ‘Holy Vest Batman!’ or A Break From the Birthday Yarn… 8/25/2015

I took last week off of blogging to do some family stuff, including buying a new(ish) car, and spending some quality time with my husband.  I did manage to find quite a bit of time to crochet, though I took some time away from the birthday yarn.  I am really close to done with the sweater but I needed to step back for a blink to break up the monotony.

I have been working feverishly on my fair getting my fair entries together.  I (of course) may have over committed with what I could get done in the month between the entry form due date and the entry due date, but so far I have been making good time on getting all the projects done.

My entries include, a stocking cap Christmas ornament (HERE) (done), a turkey child’s hat (HERE) (done), a braided scarf (HERE) (done-ish),  two hot pads (almost done with the first one), the green v-neck sweater (HERE) (close to almost done), and a multi. colored vest (see below).

As far as my as my yarn transformations go, I want to share a multi. colored vest I have been working on. The best news?  I am almost done!  This is a free pattern from Lion Brand Yarn.  The pattern can be found HERE.  It calls for Vanna’s Choice, which was what I ended up using.  I really enjoy using Vanna’s Choice  it is easy to work with, fairly in-expensive, and fairly durable.  I am looking forward to seeing how well this yarn wears in the long run.

I am using toffee as the main color, with silver blue, silver grey, dusty blue, and wheat, for accent colors.

I have to say that after the flower motif is finished, this is one of the easiest patterns I have done.  It is also easy to customize the size to fit different body types.  All you have to do is alter the row the arm holes are added onto (add or subtract stitches to account for this), and you can add more or less rows depending on the size you want the garment.

I have a few rows left, and I will be adding a button onto it to make the garment more fitted.  Without the button the vest is really loose and not terribly flattering.  I can’t wait to show you all the finished product!

The down side? All the color changes are going to make weaving ends a full time job…

image

In the mean time… here it is!

image

Hopefully in the next week I will make a bigger dent in the laundry list of fair items, and have more done!

What are all the rest of you Naughty-Knit-Chet-ers working on?  Let me know or leave a pic in the comments, I love seeing what everyone is doing out there!

Be sure to like Naughty Knots Knit and Crochet on Facebook for updates, fiber funnies, and drawings for fun fiber stuff!

Happy Hooking and (K)Nifty Knitting!

Megan

3 thoughts on “Transformation Tuesday: ‘Holy Vest Batman!’ or A Break From the Birthday Yarn… 8/25/2015

  1. That’s fab! I saw a very similar pattern in a crochet magazine I have stashed at work. Thought to myself, my daughter would love this. Seeing yours now confirms that I will definitely give it a go and make her one 😃

Leave a comment